• Any Day or Time
  • Any Level
  • Any Neighborhood
  • Any Price
  • Any Age

Writing Courses Coming up in New York

Got an idea, or pitch or pages to read? The Doctor is IN! Scotty Watson (Late Night w/ Letterman & The Second City) will hellp you get your sketch off the page and onto the stage. Come and participate!

$20
+200 pts
.   Dec 31st, 7pm
All levels
Wednesday December 31 7pm - 7pm 1 Session $20
Sunday April 27 1:30pm - 3:30pm 1 Session $30
Close
Other Dates (2)

Focusing on developing projects and receiving feedback from the instructor and classmates, this course helps students sharpen their skills and work toward completion of publishable work. Writers often repeat Fiction Writing II to continue their projects.

$445
+4450 pts
Th.   Apr 17th - Jun 19th, 10am
Advanced
Thursday April 17 10am - 1pm 10 Sessions $445
Tuesday April 22 7pm - 10pm 10 Sessions $445
Close
Other Dates (2)

Gain a firm grounding in all the basics of fiction writing; write 1-2 short stories; learn an assortment of writing exercises to develop new ideas and overcome writers block.

$445
+4450 pts
Th.   Apr 17th - Jun 19th, 10am
Beginner
Thursday April 17 10am - 1pm 10 Sessions $445
Thursday April 17 7pm - 10pm 10 Sessions $445
Saturday April 19 10am - 1pm 10 Sessions $445
Tuesday April 22 7pm - 10pm 10 Sessions $445
Close
Other Dates (4)

The course provides the structure required to bring a science fiction novel or short stories to completion. It focuses on the presentation and critique of each writer's work. Lectures and exercises expand the writer's understanding of the genre and various elements of craft.  

$445
+4450 pts
Th.   Apr 17th - Jun 19th, 7pm
All levels

This is the only class of its kind—run like a real writer’s room, taught by a professional show runner with over 25 years of industry experience—and featuring the work of 12 talented student writers.

$899
+8990 pts
Th.   Apr 17th - Jun 19th, 7pm
All levels

Practice, gain writing inspiration and hang out with other writers without needing to make a long term commitment or spend a lot of money.

$45
+450 pts
F.   Apr 18th - May 2nd, 6:30pm
All levels
Friday April 18 6:30pm - 8:30pm 3 Sessions $45
Friday April 18 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $20
Friday April 25 6:30pm - 8:30pm 3 Sessions $45
Friday April 25 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $20
Saturday April 26 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Friday May 2 6:30pm - 8:30pm 3 Sessions $45
Friday May 2 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $20
Saturday May 3 12pm - 2pm 3 Sessions $33.75
Saturday May 3 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Friday May 9 6:30pm - 8:30pm 3 Sessions $45
Friday May 9 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $20
Saturday May 10 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Friday May 16 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $20
Friday May 30 6:30pm - 8:30pm 1 Session $20
Saturday May 31 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Saturday June 7 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Saturday June 14 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Saturday June 28 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Saturday July 12 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Saturday July 19 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Saturday July 26 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Saturday August 2 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Saturday August 16 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Saturday August 23 12pm - 2pm 1 Session $20
Close
Other Dates (24)

Brush up on the fundamentals of screenwriting with a combination of lecture, exercise and critique; begin a feature-length screenplay and receive instructor and peer feedback.

$445
+4450 pts
Sa.   Apr 19th - Jun 28th, 2pm
Beginner
Saturday April 19 2pm - 5pm 10 Sessions $445
Tuesday April 22 7pm - 10pm 10 Sessions $445
Close
Other Dates (2)

Taking a class for work? Access exclusive perks and savings for free.

You'll learn how to use SMART Meeting Pro to increase the effectiveness of your meetings. You'll receive customized training designed to provide you with the knowledge, information and skills specific to your use of SMART Meeting Pro. You'll become comfortable using SMART Meeting Pro with many opportunities for hands-on practice. You'll practice completing tasks that

$599
+5990 pts
M.   Apr 21st, 9am
All levels

In this workshop, writers are given the freedom to find and strengthen their individual and unique voices as well as to experiment with form, style and new genres. In addition, the workshop provides a structure for writers to produce new work on a regular basis.

Free
+0 pts
M.   Apr 21st, 3pm
All levels
Monday April 21 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Monday April 28 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Monday May 5 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Monday May 12 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Monday May 19 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Monday May 26 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Monday June 2 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Monday June 9 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Monday June 16 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Monday June 23 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Monday June 30 3pm - 5pm 1 Session Free
Close
Other Dates (11)

The Ultimate Gift for Learners

The CourseHorse Holiday Gift Card can be used any of the 35,000 classes on CourseHorse, comes in any denomination, and never expires.

Buy a Gift Card

Focusing on developing the concept of screenwriting, this course helps students sharpen their skills and work toward completion of saleable screenplay.

$445
+4450 pts
M.   Apr 21st - Jun 23rd, 7pm
Advanced

Using a balance of lecture, exercise, and feedback on work from the instructor and classmates, this course gives students a firm grounding in all the basics of science fiction writing. Everything is presented in a clear, accessible manner.

$445
+4450 pts
M.   Apr 21st - Jun 23rd, 7pm
All levels

Using a balance of lecture, exercise, and feedback on work from the instructor and classmates, this course gives students a firm grounding in all the basics of memoir writing.

$445
+4450 pts
T.   Apr 22nd - Jun 24th, 10am
Advanced
Tuesday April 22 10am - 1pm 10 Sessions $445
Tuesday April 22 7pm - 10pm 10 Sessions $445
Wednesday April 23 7pm - 10pm 10 Sessions $445
Close
Other Dates (3)

Eliminate bad writing habits and begin cultivating confidence through practice and praise. Develop an awareness of your strengths and weaknesses in a supportive, constructive environment. Employ myriad techniques and strategies for finding new writing ideas.

$324
+3240 pts
T.   Apr 22nd - May 27th, 10am
Beginner
Tuesday April 22 10am - 1pm 6 Sessions $324
Tuesday April 22 7pm - 10pm 6 Sessions $324
Saturday April 26 12pm - 3pm 6 Sessions $324
Tuesday April 29 7pm - 10pm 6 Sessions $324
Wednesday April 30 2pm - 5pm 6 Sessions $324
Wednesday April 30 7pm - 10pm 6 Sessions $324
Thursday May 1 7pm - 10pm 6 Sessions $324
Sunday May 18 12pm - 3pm 6 Sessions $324
Close
Other Dates (8)

You will learn the various types of essay and opinion writing and know the fundamental tools to execute them well: structure, voice, how to write with purpose and meaning. You will also learn how and where to market your work.

$445
+4450 pts
T.   Apr 22nd - Jun 24th, 2pm
Beginner
Tuesday April 22 2pm - 5pm 10 Sessions $445
Tuesday April 22 7pm - 10pm 10 Sessions $445
Close
Other Dates (2)

Learn the basics of memoir writing through a balance of lectures, exercises and feedback on your writing; write one or two short memoirs, or begin a book and submit for critique.

$445
+4450 pts
T.   Apr 22nd - Jun 24th, 2pm
Beginner
Tuesday April 22 2pm - 5pm 10 Sessions $445
Thursday April 24 2pm - 5pm 10 Sessions $445
Close
Other Dates (2)