Price:
$14,950 25 seats
Start Date:

Mon, Dec 10, 9:00am - Mar 15, 5:00pm (62 sessions)

Location:
Downtown, Washington, D.C.
1133 15th St NW 8th Fl
Btwn L & M Streets NW
Washington, District of Columbia 20005
(Map)
Share:
Important:
A computer will not be provided. No classes on Dec 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, Jan 1, 21, Feb 18
Class Level: All levels
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 20

What you'll learn in this web development course:

This is a full time course.

What You'll Learn

We teach the skills you need to kickstart your career as a developer and a lifelong learner. From programming fundamentals to launching full-stack web apps, you'll learn to solve problems with code while applying industry best practices in a collaborative environment.

Programming Fundamentals

Understand how to set up your development environment, work efficiently as a developer, and make your projects a success. Learn programming fundamentals, along with the basics of computing, networks, and data structures.

The Basics of Product Development

Define what a user should be able to do with your app, appropriately model your data, develop simple wireframes, and learn to track a collaborative development process using version control.

Front-End Web Development

Before you start working with cutting-edge libraries and frameworks, gain an understanding of how to write high-quality JavaScript code. Learn to build a dynamic, front-end to your web application using a modern JavaScript library, and use CSS to layout and style your application.

Back-End Web Development

Build web applications from the ground up using Ruby on Rails, a modern web language and MVC framework. Build quality APIs using Node.js and integrate data from other apps (like Twitter or Yelp) into your project.

Working with Teams

Learn to collaborate with others to produce high quality software as you work with a team to develop, maintain, change, and secure an application.

Syllabus:

Week 1: Fundamental Programming Skills
  • 25 elementary but challenging programming problems in Ruby 
  • Emphasis on fundamentals and consistency 
  • Classes & Objects, Arrays & Dictionaries, Numerical Calculations 
  • Testing with rspec 
Week 2: Advanced Topics
  • Recursion
  • Sorting 
  • Doubly Linked Lists 
  • Git 
Week 3: Front End Web Development
  • Structuring a web page with HTML5 
  • Adding color and style with CSS3 
  • Adding dynamic front-end features with Javascript 
  • More JavaScript with jQuery 
Week 4: Data Persistence, Sinatra, and Front End Templating Alternatives
  • Relational database design and the concept of normalization 
  • Database operations using SQL 
  • Simple web apps using Sinatra 
  • Advanced CSS using SASS 
  • HTML templates using slim 
Week 5: More Sinatra & Beginning with Rails
  • Creating forms with Sinatra 
  • Creating an API with Sinatra 
  • Rails 
  • Scaffolding to quickly generate a proof of concept 
  • Create a simple blog application 
Week 6: Rails
  • Sending emails automatically 
  • Handling image file uploads and integrating with Amazon S3 
  • User registration and login 
  • Understanding how ActiveRecord works to simplify database interaction 
  • Utilizing the Asset Pipeline to optimize the way images and other assets get compiled and served 
Week 7: More Rails
  • Adding AJAX for a better user experience 
  • Switching from SQLite to PostgreSQL for a more fully featured database 
  • Authenticating with third party services like Facebook and Google with Omniauth 
  • Getting data about a Facebook user to more deeply integrate Facebook into your application 
Week 8: Deeper into Ruby, the Rails stack, and Testing
  • Search through and manipulate text with Regular Expressions 
  • Using Rack: a minimal API for connecting web servers and web frameworks 
  • Creating Nested Resources for more intuitive application structure 
  • Running asynchronous background tasks with Delayed Job and Sidekiq 
  • Dive Deeper into testing with Capybara, Cucumber, and MiniTest 
Week 9: Build an Internet of Things Server with Ruby on Rails 
  • Four Weeks of Internship
School Notes:
For students enrolling in 12 week part time and immersive classes, it is not recommended that you book more than one class simultaneously.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

If you can't make it to a class/workshop, please email us at [email protected] at least 7 days before the scheduled event date. No refunds will be given after this timeframe.

Map

Google Map

General Assembly

All classes at this location

Start Dates (1)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener 62 $14,950
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Dec 11 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Dec 12 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Dec 13 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Dec 14 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Mon, Dec 17 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Dec 18 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Dec 19 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Dec 20 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Dec 21 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Mon, Dec 31 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Jan 02 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Jan 03 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Jan 04 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Mon, Jan 07 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Jan 08 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Jan 09 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Jan 10 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Jan 11 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Mon, Jan 14 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Jan 15 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Jan 16 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Jan 17 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Jan 18 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Jan 22 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Jan 23 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Jan 24 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Jan 25 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Mon, Jan 28 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Jan 29 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Jan 30 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Jan 31 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Feb 01 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Mon, Feb 04 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Feb 05 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Feb 06 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Feb 07 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Feb 08 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Mon, Feb 11 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Feb 12 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Feb 13 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Feb 14 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Feb 15 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Feb 19 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Feb 20 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Feb 21 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Feb 22 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Mon, Feb 25 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Feb 26 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Feb 27 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Feb 28 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Mar 01 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Mon, Mar 04 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Mar 05 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Mar 06 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Mar 07 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Mar 08 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Mon, Mar 11 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Tue, Mar 12 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Wed, Mar 13 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Thu, Mar 14 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener
Fri, Mar 15 9:00am - 5:00pm N. Davis, J. Turnbull, J. Weatherwax, A. Chin, J. Bell & T. Gardener

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 149500 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Reviews of Classes at General Assembly

(1670 Reviews)
loading...

School: General Assembly

General Assembly

General Assembly is a pioneer in education and career transformation, specializing in today’s most in-demand skills. The leading source for training, staffing, and career transitions, we foster a flourishing community of professionals pursuing careers they love.

What began as a co-working space in...

Read more about General Assembly

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified DC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free.